The Fault In Our Stars (2014): It Was Okay and I Do Not Mean That As a Pun

I read the book about a year ago and when I heard there was going to be a movie, I was fairly excited. I enjoyed reading the book and I like watching movies. But I wasn’t screaming for joy when the trailer came out and I felt no burning desire to immediately watch the movie.

But, as you can see, I did go watch it with some friends eventually with neither high nor low expectations.

It looks promising, but I’m not big on romance stories. So it balanced out into a neutral opinion going into the movie.

I didn’t melt into a puddle of emotion or burst into loud, wracking sobs, although several fourteen-year-old girls sitting in front of us did. (Okay, admittedly, I did get a little teary-eyed at certain parts, but no tears actually slipped down my face.)

As a whole, the movie was okay.

And not “okay” as in “I’m going to be witty and use that to praise this movie.” Just okay.

It wasn’t bad. I certainly didn’t dislike this movie, but it wasn’t not enjoyable.

But I wasn’t exactly impressed either.

Okay, the casting was good. Ansel Elgort definitely captivated a part of Augustus Waters that translated onto the big screen and Shailene Woodley is a very good actress.

They really had a very good performance in the movie.

However, even though both protagonists really portrayed the characters from the book very well, the movie had a general sense of unreal-ness and just…it was all the same feel. To me, it is difficult to differentiate between the rising and falling parts of the movie, because it all seemed to similar. Also, everything seemed to work out in an almost-too-perfect way.

I am not saying that cancer is “perfect” in the least, but the lives of Hazel and Augustus just seem too…fictional. They don’t seem to exist in real life. I am not able to relate to either of them whatsoever.

Perhaps it is just me. I have never had anyone really close to me get cancer, and I just don’t know a lot about it and I don’t want to make assumptions about the experience and ordeal that someone that has been through this has gone through.

I am also very skeptical on the subject of love, which may be why I don’t relate to this kind of story and why I don’t really appreciate or enjoy romance stories such as The Fault in Our Stars. Sure, I enjoyed the book and it even made me want to read more John Green books, but honestly, I find it completely unrealistic and somewhat boring.

The thing is, I just don’t believe in the love that exists between Hazel Lancaster and Augustus Waters.

In this light, the movie seems like an optimistic but unreal dream between two characters who feels very disconnected from the real world. And also very cliche.

However, the movie certainly did a good job in making the movie not feel cliche. It was only looking back and reflecting that I realized this was actually a pretty cliche love story.

But in the theater, the quotes, the things they said, the narration, basically the movie, didn’t feel cliche. I never even thought about the cliche-ness of it until afterwards.

Except for that one part where Gus is confessing his love for Hazel in Amsterdam.

This is where Gus is about to confess his love for Hazel and he also talks a lot about oblivion but, to be honest, I’ve really forgotten what else he says.

To be honest, I don’t remember this scene in the book. (Did it even exist? The whole thing about Gus confessing his love in the restaurant?)

However, it did happen in the movie and I almost physically raised my eyebrow at the scene. This was the one part that I felt like Ansel Elgort was reciting lines rather than being Gus. Or acting.

I get that Gus is kind of pretentious and likes to talk about this kind of stuff about oblivion and the void or whatever, but this scene just really seemed…staged.

Which is kind of what it is, but it’s not supposed to feel like that.

But the movie was a whole really was not unenjoyable. I certainly enjoyed while watching it, but I hesitate to say whether I really liked it, as a movie at least. The film was a wonderfully done adaptation of the book and I really feel that it did the book and the author justice.

Although there was too less of Isaac (portrayed by Nat Wolff in the movie) and didn’t Gus have an ex-girlfriend? At least they kept the part of about Isaac talking about not wanting to see a world without Gus even if there were robot eyes available in the future because that quote is just beautiful.

Conclusion: The Fault in Our Stars depicts a teenage love story and the sweet romance between two dying people that allowed them to find happiness in their lives and definitely brings out the flair and the memorable quotes of the book as the excellent cast brought their characters to life, but the entire thing is…not fake, just unrealistic and very, very fictional. 5.5/10.

Leave a Reply

