Jurassic World (2015): My Inner Eight-Year-Old Almost Died of Excitement

I went through a dinosaur phase when I was in elementary school and Jurassic Park (directed by Steven Spielberg) is one of my favorite childhood movies. Needless to say, I was thoroughly excited when the trailer was released.

And this time, it’s not just dinosaurs eating people.

As opposed to the preview-tour-gone-awry in Jurassic ParkJurassic World (directed by Colin Trevorrow) takes it up a notch. The amusement park has been open for several years and it is one of the hottest attractions in the world. And, like many amusement parks, Jurassic World is preparing a new exhibit, the Indominus Rex, which leads to the inevitable: it escapes.

It was awesome.

Awesome, as in tons of dinosaur action, a dramatic soundtrack (composed by Michael Giacchino), and things getting destroyed. Jurassic World is the perfect movie for a fun, exciting two hours. I watched it in IMAX 3D, which was an excellent idea, because what beats high-definition dinosaurs on a giant screen?

If there was a real Jurassic World, I would 100% go. I would probably die, but I would go.

There’s not much to say about this movie. It’s not thoughtful, or deep. It’s simply fun and exciting, especially for Jurassic Park fans. Yes, I can give my normal schpiel on how great the effects were, how the soundtrack fits into the movie with the haunting theme of the original Jurassic Park. I could go on, but it would amount to almost every other movie review I’ve written on an action or superhero movie.

But there was just something else about it. I would watch Jurassic World again with a second’s hesitation. Give me a little more time and I would probably watch it a third time. And I hardly rewatch movies.

I suppose it’s the lack of concentration required for the plot. It’s obviously not a carbon copy of its prequel, but the plot is so similar that I was surprised I still really liked this movie. I mean, dinosaur gets out, chaos, people get eaten, giant dinosaur fight, ending. (I am so sorry if you felt like I spoiled this movie, but trust me, if you like dinosaurs, you’ll probably still enjoy the movie.)

Look at how unbelievably AWESOME this is. I want to go.

The thing with Jurassic World is that the plot really isn’t the focus. I mean, yeah, it plays a major role, but no one is going to go see Jurassic World for a deep, meaningful, and complex plot.

But who cares about plot when there’s awesome dinosaur action? I certainly didn’t.

And now with a new movie out, maybe next time I visit Universal Studios there’ll be a new Jurassic World ride that I can ride on three times in a row. Or wait in a line for two hours just to go on once.

Conclusion: Jurassic World was absolutely fantastic and I don’t really care what anyone else says, I thought it was amazing. But for real now: Jurassic World impresses the audience with high-end computer technology that brings many dinosaurs to life on the screen, and while the plot is somewhat lacking in ingenuity, Jurassic World ends up being a fun, exciting movie that is able to fully entertain the audience for its whole two hours. 9.5/10.

Leave a Reply

