Mad Max, Fury Road (2015): It Was Madly Awesome That’s What It Was

I had heard lots of good things about this movie and I was very excited to watch it. I understood it had three movies before it, with the protagonist played by Mel Gibson, but I have not seen them. Now I want to though.

The poster did not set me up for what the movie was.

Mad Max: Fury Road (directed by George Miller) is the fourth movie in the Mad Max franchise, following the story of Max Rockstanby (Tom Hardy), who joins up with Furiosa (Charlize Theron) to escape from the tyrannical ruler, the Immortan Joe (Hugh Keays-Burne), along with his five wives that have been selected to breed his child, leading to super badass action scenes and explosions.

Taken place in a post-apocalyptic desert, I really would have liked to know more about this type of society they were all living in, but I assume I would have to watch the previous movies, which I haven’t, so I’m not complaining.

Also, Nicholas Hoult was in this movie, who I did not recognize until about halfway through when it suddenly occurred to me that this character, Nux, looked very familiar.

This is totally Nicholas Hoult but for some reason I didn’t realize until much later in the movie.

Thinking back, the plot was really good, but it wasn’t anything to the extent of phenomenal. It was fast-paced, interesting, and called for tons of action. It moved along well and I didn’t find any flaws with it, but it certainly didn’t make me grip the edge of my seat, dying to know what would come next.

The special effects, on the other hand, were phenomenal. First off, the road battles all involved giant, rusty war trucks that look like they have really bad mileage but I guess don’t because I think gasoline is a scarce resource in this post-apocalyptic world, so I assume they would have found some way to help their mileage.

While that looked cool in itself, especially the shots from above, when they overturn and explode, that was just amazing.

The pole guys were really neat too.

The action scenes were wonderful. It impressed me in a different way than other action movies or superhero movies, where I am pleased just by the large number of explosions. In Mad Max: Fury Road, the action scenes felt more balanced–in a way. It wasn’t just explosions and it wasn’t just hand-to-hand combat; it was a good balance of both, with a little extra as many of our main characters have superb aim and can create awesome scenes.

And, of course, the flame-thrower guitar can’t be left out. That guy was just plain awesome. What is not awesome about a flame-thrower guitar?

It’s a flame-thrower guitar. Absolutely fantastic.

Although there wasn’t much dialogue throughout, Mad Max: Fury Road managed to impress me with all its characters. I can’t say they were extremely three-dimensional, because I think I may need more back story on that, but they were solid characters.

I wish I had been able to see this movie in theaters, because the special effects, and the sound effects (especially the subwoofer) would have been absolutely mind-blowing, especially amplified on a giant screen.

What I really liked though was how it really just wasn’t what I was expecting. I mean, I wasn’t exactly sure what I was expecting, but it was not the end result. But, this is also coming from someone who hasn’t seen any other of the movies in the Mad Max franchise. So maybe this unexpected result is just me.

Conclusion: Mad Max: Fury Road captures the audience through an engaging plot and interesting characters, accompanied largely by many superb action scenes with badass and rugged war trucks in the yellow desert, maintaining both impressive special effects and a certain aesthetic to it that leaves the movie memorable. Bonus points for the flame-thrower guitar. 8/10.

2 thoughts on “Mad Max, Fury Road (2015): It Was Madly Awesome That’s What It Was

  1. I watched this in cinemas, (you’re right. It’s amazing on the big screen), and loved it, even watched it twice. I had recently watched the previous Mad Max, but so long ago that I had forgotten everything.

    After watching Fury Rod, I re-watched the previous three with Mel Gibson in them and didn’t like them much. The first one I ended up fast-forwarding through and the first two were ok, (and a lot more like Fury road).

    I think Tom Hardy makes an amazing Max and loved Nicholas Holt!

    (P.S. Ditto about the guitar dude. He was amazing!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

