Darker Than Black, Gemini of the Meteor: I Swore At My Computer At The End

I had high hopes for this second season, and they were kind of met. But not really. They were between halfway and completely met.

We also have the introduction of a new character.

The second season of Darker Than Black (directed by Tensai Okamura) takes place a couple of years after the events of the first season. I believe there are OVAs describing what happened in between, but I haven’t seen them. Hei (voiced by Hidenobu Kiuchi) is now on the run after betraying the Syndicate in the first season and, for a time, works for the CIA. Suou Pavlichenko (voiced by Kana Hanazawa) is the main focus now, and tells her story after her life changed after an incident with a meteor shower.

I know I shouldn’t compare them, but the first season was better.

However, although this second season didn’t quite explain what I was looking for, it was still enjoyable. Plot-wise, it was still very intense, complex, and interesting. Character-wise, there were still interesting and developed characters that I enjoyed watching. Development-wise, it was all very good until the end.

Okay, Hei got a little bit less cool with the long hair, but whatever.

The thing about Darker Than Black: Gemini of the Meteor is that it gives no closure. There was an ending and there are no more episodes after that, but I felt no sense of closure, no sense of satisfaction that I finished this show.

So I swore very loudly to my computer, which obviously didn’t change anything.

The second season is very similar to the first in that they reveal everything through very vague and subtle ways. The humanity of the dolls is also addressed in a similar manner like Yin in the first season, but with July in this second season. I just wished they had given me more concrete facts to deal with, because while I liked this theme of humanity, I wanted to know more about it, but I felt like I didn’t get any answers at all.

I really liked July. I’m glad he was a main part of this second season. Even if he didn’t really talk much.

While the subtlety of Darker Than Black, both the first and second seasons, played well into the entire charm and feel of the show, I just really wished they could present the information in a way that felt like I could fully understand it. I just wanted my questions to be answered in a very straightforward way.

But at the same time, I really liked the subtlety of it. I liked being shown information that I can infer my conclusions from.

What I really want is the same sense of subtlety with a sense of closure, but that seems hard to achieve.

In the end, I still enjoyed watching this, but I felt like I got no satisfaction out of it, even though I did, because I really did like it. It just also made me slightly angry at the same time.

I also would have liked to have known more about this society and Hell’s Gate and just the many other aspects that were only lightly touched on. There’s just so much to this world that I want to know about, but unfortunately, the show just doesn’t answer all of my questions.

Conclusion: Filled with an interesting and complex plot, intense action scenes, and the very cool main character Hei, Darker Than Black: Gemini of the Meteor is fascinating and seat-gripping all the way until the end, which unfortunately drops off at a steep angle, leaving the audience with unanswered questions that go way beyond ambiguity. Bonus points for July though. 7/10.

Leave a Reply

