The Suicide Theory (2014): I Am Contemplating About Fate Again

My dad recommended this movie to me, so naturally, I didn’t much of it and just assumed this to be some kind of typical thriller, because that’s usually what my dad likes.

I was wrong though. Sort of.

I wasn’t all that drawn towards it. But it was on Netflix and I didn’t have anything else to do.

Steven Ray (Steve Mouzakis) is very experienced in killing people. Percival Wells (Leon Cain) is a suicidal man that is seemingly invincible; after numerous attempts at suicide, he miraculously survives each one. Wishing to die, Percival hires Steven to kill him.

I had read the small blurb on Netflix before I watched this movie, and I was intrigued by the originality of this idea.

Although a relatively short movie and somewhat slow-paced, The Suicide Theory (directed by Dru Brown) managed to keep me interested throughout. There were some moments that felt a little dragged down to me, but overall, the development felt natural.

But mostly, I really enjoyed how the entire movie is linked through the motif of fate. If you have read my other reviews, you may have noticed that I am a sucker for the themes of humanity and fate in fiction.

Here we have the two unlikely friends bonding through video games.

Steven is a firm unbeliever in things like fate, while Percival is convinced there is a reason why they met. Oftentimes, the attempt at incorporating the concept of fate into a movie or a book falls flat with cliched lines or a very typical and boring hero (although that’s more of a destiny angle). The Suicide Theory thankfully does not fall into that category.

However, as much as I like fate, or at least the discussion of fate, The Suicide Theory didn’t really impress me much on other aspects. The entire movie seemed to be based on a bland, brownish color scheme. Most scenes took place at night or in dark places and it just felt like there was no contrast in the entire visual aspect of the movie.

It felt like the majority of the movie was like this.

I will admit that these scenes held a certain charm to them though, even if it was slightly on the trying-to-be-edgy-and-dark feel. Not that this film isn’t edgy and dark. Sort of.

Steven Ray was definitely dark and edgy though. A somewhat demented killer who lost his wife in a hit-and-run in front of his eyes with his share of deep, personal issues, Steven is very interesting. Everything revealed about him is subtle, but clear; I felt like I clearly understood what was being shown to me without it being shoved into my nose.

Percival is less interesting in this aspect, even if he is the one that can’t die, but his contribution to the movie was also crucial. Aside from the fact that he is one of the main characters.

Percival’s scarred face from his numerous suicide attempts.

The Suicide Theory deserves a lot of credit for its ending, because it actually took me by surprise (sort of), and, if I say so myself, I am not that easily surprised. The first “twist” ending, not so much. I saw that coming about halfway through the movie–one of those twist endings that have become so common that it becomes predictable.

I did not see the second “twist” ending coming. It wasn’t so much of a “twist” that took me by surprise, but it certainly made me blink twice.

Also, it was one of those endings that bring everything full circle, which is something I am also a sucker for. And it fit in really nicely with the whole idea of fate they were stringing throughout the movie.

Conclusion: The Suicide Theory draws in the audience with an interesting premise and manages to keep the audience interested even though the pace was slightly slow and the visual aspect a little bit bland as this atypical thriller presents the idea of fate and the stories of the people that become entangled in it. 6/10.

Leave a Reply

