The Hunger Games, Mockingjay, Part 1: Definitely Not Revolutionary

I finally got around to watching this movie. I’d been meaning to ever since it came out, but it just didn’t really happen until winter break.

mv5bmtcxndi2ndaznl5bml5banbnxkftztgwodm3mtc2mje-_v1_sx214_al_

Like I get the whole keeping a theme idea, but I swear the covers all look exactly the same.

Directed by Francis Lawrence, we continue the story of Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence), who had been tragically subjected to the Hunger Games twice, and is now being recruited to be the Mockingjay, a symbol for the growing riots against the Capitol.

It was so slow.

The pace was unbearably slow. All throughout the movie, all I could wonder was how long this was going to last. Around half an hour into the movie, I was already pretty much done. If nothing in particular has happened in thirty minutes, I lose interest very quickly.

I guess the development was good. There were many specific details and gradual showing as opposed to everything being thrust into your face at once, but it was still too slow.

I haven’t seen the second part, but I think I would live if they didn’t split it into two parts.

SS_D11-4409.dng

Let me deceive you into thinking there are tons of explosions.

The movie, although probably pretty well executed on many other parts, was just grey and bland and flat. The acting was on par with the other movies in the franchise, the setting, special effects, all of that felt pretty on par with the other movies. But the slow pace was blinding.

While watching it, all I could notice was how slow the movie was. It’s two hours seemed to drag on forever. About every ten minutes, I was tempted to just stand up and walk away (i.e., close the browser window). But I stuck through it just so that I could complain about it later.

To me, the slow pace could have been avoided. First of all, everyone probably would have lived if both Mockingjay movies had been combined (I haven’t seen the second part, but at this moment, I’m convinced this would have also worked). Second, there could have been more action, more explosions, more exciting sequences.

katniss-coin-hands-mockingjay

The movie was basically this color the entire way through.

Tons of movies substitute exciting special effects and action scenes for plot. While perhaps useless for a literary analysis of the movie and its themes, it’s usually very successful for entertaining the audience, particularly if the movie has a high budget, which I assume is the case for Mockingjay, Part 1.

Overall, I just felt very dissatisfied, especially since I had been pretty pleased with the previous movies. The music was on point, but it was hard to notice past the sluggish pace of the film. While not an awful film that’s worth detesting, I was still disappointed and I really didn’t enjoy this movie experience.

Conclusion: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 reveals the tale of Katniss and the Mockingjay, but much too slowly, creating a stagnant and sepia-filtered two hours with hardly any action to substitute the lack of plot, resulting in a very bland film that really doesn’t live up to its prequels in the franchise. 3.5/10.

